Subscribe to industry newsletters


Search jobs

Judges of Responsible Drinking Media Awards announced

A senior group of journalists with multiple years of experience in the sector have been selected to serve in the judging panel for the 10th annual Responsible Drinking Media Awards (RDMAs)

The awards are sponsored by spirits company, Diageo South Africa, to recognise media content that focuses on various aspects of alcohol in society, including the problem of misuse and interventions against it.

The RDMAs is proud to announce the following panel to serve as judges for the 2021 edition of the media awards:

  • Award-winning broadcast journalist and senior news anchor, Cathy Mohlahlana,
  • Chairperson of the South African National Editors Forum (Sanef), Sibusiso Ngalwa,
  • Award-winning journalist and media leader, Mary Papayya,
  • Chairperson of the African Editors Forum, Jovial Rantao,
  • Secretary general of Sanef with more than twenty years of print and broadcast experience, Mahlatse Mahlase,
  • Multiple award-winning broadcast anchor, Leanne Manas,
  • Corporate relations director at Diageo SA, Sibani Mngadi.

ommenting on the panel of judges, Sibani Mngadi said, "We are honoured as Diageo that such calibre of media people have agreed to serve as judge and help recognise the outstanding journalism content that has been generated, especially since the outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic in our country.”

Entries for the awards are still open with the closing date of 15 November 2021. Any content published or broadcast from 1 February 2020 about alcohol, its economic and social role as well as interventions against misuse, is welcome.

Journalists and media practitioners have a chance to enter in their content in the following categories:

  • Best Newspaper (Commercial)
  • Best Newspaper (Community)
  • Best Magazine
  • Best Online or Post
  • Best Radio (Commercial)
  • Best Radio (Community)
  • Best TV
  • Best Up and Coming
  • Alcohol Policy Award
  • Influential Voice Award

rom the above categories, each with a prize value of R20,000, the judges will then select the Journalist of the Year as the best overall entry for 2021, with an additional prize of R30,000.

For more information and to enter your work, you can visit the website here.

Let's do Biz