Subscribe to industry newsletters

Marketing & Media jobs

  • Intern Junior - Publishing Johannesburg
  • Art Director Cape Town
  • Advertising Sales Executive Johannesburg
  • Writer Cape Town
  • MoreSubmit a jobOpen account
    Search jobs

    All the 2010 MPASA PICA winners

    Media24 and New Media dominated the 2010 MPASA PICA Awards last night, Thursday, 11 November 2010, held at the Zip Zap Circus in Cape Town. Thanks to awards only being given to the outright winners, the revamped awards evening didn't drag but zipped along merrily, punctuated with frequent laughter induced by comedian Riaad Moosa, the MC for the night.
    All the 2010 MPASA PICA winnersThis year, there were 2500 votes, 472 entries (up over 70% from last year), 29 awards, 23 judges and three chief judges.

    All the winners

    CategorySectorNamePublicationMedia houseArticleTrophy
    Columnist of the YearToast CoetzerWeg/GoMedia24Waiting for Rain
    Feature Writer of the YearAndy DavisZigZagAtoll MediaFull Circle - The Chris Bertish Story
    Profile Writer of the YearAnnalize VisserElle South AfricaAvusa MagazinesEverybody Loves David
    Public Interest Writer of the YearLucas LedwabaDrumMedia24We Want Answers (HIV/Aid Series)
    Travel Writer of the YearToast CoetzerWeg/GoMedia24Into the Republic
    Health & Wellness Writer of the YearJo-Anne SmetherhamMen's HealthTouchline MediaOrigins of an Outbreak
    Trade & Industry Writer of the YearLouise MarslandAdVantageBusinessMags24The New Pink
    Visual Production of the YearMari Groenwald & Robert CilliersWomen's HealthTouchline MediaWild and Woolly
    Photography/Photojournalism of the YearRoger HorrocksWeg/GoMedia24Underwater Okavango
    Layout of the YearLeon KrielWegRy/Drive OutMedia24What is that Red Light, Hubert?
    Overall Magazine Design of the YearConsumerSarieMedia24
    Overall Magazine Design of the YearB2BAdVantageBusinessMags24
    Overall Magazine Design of the YearCustomWoolworths TasteNew Media
    Cover of the YearConsumerZigZagAtoll Media
    Cover of the YearB2BInside Mining3S Media
    Cover of the YearCustomJSEHighbury Safika Media
    Annual, Supplement or Special Issue of the YearConsumerSarie Kos vir MansMedia24
    Annual, Supplement or Special Issue of the YearB2BLeadership in SportCape Media Corporation
    Annual, Supplement or Special Issue of the YearCustomMercedesNew Media
    Online Solution of the YearWoolworths TasteNew Media
    Best Tie-in with Integrated Marketing and Corporate ObjectivesHip2B2New Media
    Launch or Re-launch of the YearConsumerWomen's HealthTouchline MediaPhillip Tyler
    Launch or Re-launch of the YearCustomKhulumaTouchline MediaPhillip Tyler
    Editor of the YearConsumerMichelle van BredaSarieMedia24Jane Raphaelly
    Editor of the YearB2BRobbie StammersLeadershipCape Media Corporation
    Editor of the YearCustomGeorgia GardnerObrigadoThe Publishing Partnership
    Magazine of the YearConsumerSarieMedia24Rossi
    Magazine of the YearB2BLeadershipCape Media CorporationWatling
    Magazine of the YearCustomWoolworths TasteNew Media

    The judging panel consisted of Adrian Hewlett, Andrew Maluleka, Andy Hadfield, Brendan Seery, Britta Reid, Chris Moerdyk, Chris Roper, Crispian Brown, Dot Field, Emmet O'Hanlon, Gino Cosme, Joan Kruger, Khwezi Tshabalala-Moyo, Mandy de Waal, Melanie Bala, Nechama Brodie, Oresti Patricios, Ray Hartley, Ryan Williams, Sarah Britten, Sue Grant Marshall, Thabani Khumalo and Tiffany Turkington, with Gus Silber, Gisele Wertheim Aymes and Daniel Munslow as chief judges.

    Let's do Biz