Subscribe to industry newsletters

And the 2019 Responsible Drinking Media Awards finalists are...

Diageo SA has announced the finalists of the 2019 Responsible Drinking Media Awards (RDMAs). The finalists were selected from a total of 464 entries.
Image credit: Responsible Drinking Media Awards.
Image credit: Responsible Drinking Media Awards.

Judged by media experts, the 2019 judging panel consisted of SABC’s executive producer of English news, Megan Lubke; Wits journalism lecturer and board member of Health-e News, Dinesh Balliah; freelance editor and chair of the African Editors Forum, Jovial Rantao; Primedia’s group editor-in-chief and chairperson of Sanef, Mahlatse Mahlase; and seasoned journalist and talk radio show host, Mike Siluma.

“Judging by the number of entries that continue to pour in each year, we can safely say that South African media are aware of the serious issues arising from the irresponsible use of alcohol. These awards have been put in place to acknowledge their efforts and encourage more journalists to wave the responsible drinking flag,” says Sibani Mngadi, corporate relations director at Diageo SA.

And the finalists are…

Best Newspaper (Community/Non-Commercial)

  • Samantha Lee, TygerburgerEsme Erasmus, Tygerburger
  • Vennessa Scholtz, Northern News

Best Newspaper (Commercial)

  • Sharika Regchand, Weekend Witness
  • Marchelle Abrahams, The Mercury
  • Carla Lewis, Beeld

Best Online

  • Esme Erasmus, Netwerk24
  • Marchelle Abrahams, IOL
  • Carla Lewis, Netwerk24

Best Magazine

  • Sarah Koopman, S Mag
  • Anton Pretorius, WineLand
  • Keith Bain, khuluma

Best TV

  • Wandile Mofokeng, SABC
  • Carol Albertyn Christie, Carte Blanche
  • Reginald Witbooi, SABC

Best Radio (Commercial) 

  • Philippa Hudson, Amy-Rae Rispel and OB Sitwayi, Cape Talk
  • Bruce Hong, Keino Kammies and Nicola Bruns, Cape Talk

Best Radio (Community/Non-Commercial)

  • Felix Ngobeni, Alfred Nzo Community Radio
  • Pieter Cloete, Groot FM
  • Sibongile Mofokeng, Radio Pulpit

Best Up-and-Coming

  • Saara Mowlana, Traveller24
  • Samantha Lee, Tygerburger
  • Wandile Mofokeng, SABC

Journalist of the Year and Media House of the Year will be announced on the evening of the awards ceremony.

The winner of each of the above categories will walk away with R15,000 and a public acknowledgement for their efforts to help combat alcohol abuse in South Africa. Winners will be announced at an official awards ceremony on 3 October 2019.

For more information on the awards visit

Let's do Biz