Media News South Africa

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Enter the Discovery Health Journalism Awards

Health journalists that have had their work published or broadcast between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2014 should submit their entries to the Discovery Health Journalism Awards before 6 February 2015.
Enter the Discovery Health Journalism Awards

The Discovery Health Journalism Awards, which were established in 2008, aim to recognise the work of the country's health journalists in educating South Africans about healthcare issues that affect South Africans as consumers of healthcare services. The awards recognise journalism of high quality. They encourage these journalists to aspire to a higher calibre of health reporting that will strengthen our country's healthcare system and enable people to make well-informed healthcare decisions.

Award categories:

    1. Best health news reporting
    2. Best healthy lifestyle feature
    3. Best consumer reporting and feature writing
    4. Best investigative reporting
    5. Best analysis and commentary
    6. Best radio health journalism
    7. Best television health journalism
    8. Best health economics journalism
    9. Young upcoming health journalist of the year
    10. Best health journalist: Foreign media

    11. Discovery Foundation Nation-builder Award

Winners in each category will receive R25,000 in prize money. The Discovery Health Journalist of the Year and winners in multiple categories will receive a total of R75,000 in prize money.

For more information, go to

Let's do Biz