Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

100% Design South Africa Awards announces 2019 winners

100% Design South Africa, announced its 2019 Design Award winners at an event that was held at Gallagher Convention Centre on Thursday, 8 August 2019.
SA Designers of The Year (from left) Thabisa Mjo, Mpho Vackier and 100% Design South Africa’s creative director, Cathy O'Clery. Image supplied.
SA Designers of The Year (from left) Thabisa Mjo, Mpho Vackier and 100% Design South Africa’s creative director, Cathy O'Clery. Image supplied.

The winners of the 100% Design Awards were chosen by an independent panel comprising publishing editors, members of the media, designers, tastemakers and influencers.

The 2019 judges were: Charl Edwards of House and Leisure; Ntombehle Shezi of Kaya FM; Piet Smedy of Conde Nast House & Garden; Annemarie Meintjies of Visi; Leana Schoeman of Sunday Times Home; Lezanne van Heerden of The Guild Group; architect Nisha van der Hoven; journalist Zanele Kumalo; interior designer Tristan du Plessis; creative director Tracy Lynch; Michael Spinks of the Nando’s design programme; and Malibongwe Tyilo of Maverick Life.

The 2019 award-winners were announced at the event by 100% Design South Africa’s creative director, Cathy O’Clery.
“We’re thrilled to see the level of excellence this year. The intention behind these awards is not only to stimulate the industry but to reward and acknowledge designers who are leading their respective categories.
The judges chose the following winners, who each received a bespoke trophy designed by Dokter and Misses:

Best Lighting Design: Memphis Lighting Collection by Wiid Design and Ceramic Matters

Best Surface Design: MaXhosa wallpaper by Laduma Ngxokolo
Special Mention 1: Notation Design for terrazzo
Special Mention 2: r1.

Best Textile Design: Ronel Jordaan
Special Mention: Evolution for sustainability

Best of 100% New Talent: Sifiso Shange of Afrimodern in collaboration with John Vogel
Special Mention: Foil Reflections by Mbongiseni Nxumalo

Best Furniture Design: Preservation Bench by Houtlander for AHEC
Special mention: Takk Studio

Best Product Design: Raw Studios for Inhouse
Special mention: Chuma Maweni

Best Stand: Wolkberg and Jacobs Collection

South African Designer of the Year: Awarded jointly to Mpho Vackier of The Urbanative and Thabisa Mjo of Mash. T Design Studio.

“We’d like to congratulate all the winners of these prestigious awards,” says Sian Cullingworth, portfolio director at Reed Exhibitions, the organisers of 100% Design South Africa Awards. “Their designs set the benchmark for our industry and encourage further development.”

Held in conjunction with Decorex Joburg and the International Sourcing Fair, 100% Design South Africa ran from 7-11 August 2019 and proudly showcased the very best of local product design alongside top international brands.

Let's do Biz