Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

#MostAwards2018: A bumper year for celebration

Industry professionals from all over gathered at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg yesterday, Thursday, 13 September, in their droves to honour the achievements of their peers at the 10th Annual Most Awards.
Image supplied.
Image supplied.

Stunning décor set the scene for a celebratory atmosphere which was added to with wine tasting, a pop-up gin bar, fabulous music, comedy, applause and networking, making this the crowning glory of the Most Awards so far.

A decade of Most

“This is a bumper year for celebration,” said Sandra Gordon, founder of the prestigious Awards. “Not only are we extremely proud to usher in a decade of Most, but we share this milestone birthday with a number of other significant anniversaries. The MediaShop has been in business for 30 years, RMS Media is 25 and Freshly Ground Insights is 10. In addition, we have a crop of 21-year-olds: Kagiso, Mediamark, KayaFM, JacarandaFM, HeartFM and GagasiFM all turn 21 this year.”

In addition to the Media Owner of the Year Award and the Media Agency of the Year Award, won by AdColony and The MediaShop (Johannesburg) respectively, Most awarded some extra-special accolades. The Media Owner of the Decade was shared by DStv Media Sales and Tiso Blackstar, having both achieved similar results at the Most Awards over the past 10 years, while The MediaShop (Johannesburg) took the Media Agency of the Decade Award.

The Most Legend and Rising Star Awards are presented to individuals in recognition of their commitment to the media industry. Respondents submitted nominations for these awards by respondents to the survey and the winner was selected by a panel of previous winners using specially selected criteria. These awards cannot be won more than once.

The winners for 2018

  • Media Agency Legend – Celia Collins
  • Media Owner Legend – Greg Maloka
  • Media Owner Rising Star – Mike van Tonder
  • Media Agency Rising Star – Ricardo Lopes
  • Shepherd Award – Rina Broomberg
  • Bell Award – Neil Higgs

The Most Lamb Awards, for companies that do not receive the minimum number of 30 votes, but who excel in terms of great service delivery and knowledge, went to Mark1Media.

The Most Africa Awards are presented to South African based media owner and media agency teams. The Media Owner Africa Award went to Alliance Media and the Media Agency Africa Award was won by Omnicom Media Group (OMG), Africa.The Full-Service Media Agency Award was picked up by The MediaShop (Johannesburg) and the Traditional Specialist Media Agency Award was won by Alphabet Soup.

In the radio category, Primedia Broadcasting took top honours while Cinemark won the cinema category. The Home Channel, Business Day TV and Ignition topped the television category. Alliance Media also won the out-of-home (OOH) category and AdColony was ranked number one in the digital category. Spark Media took the honours in the newspaper category and Media24 Lifestyle won the magazines category. The winner in the media sales consultancies category was AdColony.

Independent thought leaders with flair and integrity

The Bell Award acknowledges an individual with a stellar track record of contribution to the sector. The nominees extend outside of the media owner and agency work environments, acknowledged as independent thought leaders with flair and integrity. The award went to visionary researcher and researcher Neil Higgs, a media maverick who has left an indelible mark on the South African media landscape, having developed and introduced the new SEM (socio-economic measure) household continuum to replace the long outdated LSM (Living Standard Measure).

The Shepherd Award acknowledges an individual who selflessly contributes time, knowledge and expertise to improving the media industry. This special award went to Rina Bloomberg, co-founder, with Gareth Cliff, of One on One Productions and CliffCentral. She is a respected mentor, having given a number of radio personalities, including Cliff and Xolani Gwala, their big break on radio. Brad Aigner, MD of research house Freshly Ground Insights (FGI), commented that this year’s voting led to some surprising results, which indicated the changing state of the South African media industry.
Three hundred and fifty people cast 3,590 votes for 88 media owners in nine categories for this year’s Most Awards for Media Owners Survey, the best response rate since its inception. 
Likewise, The Media Agencies also received a record number of votes in 2018.

Full list of Most Awards winners 2018

Media Owner of the YearAdColony
2ndAlliance Media
3rdMassiv Media
Media Agency of the YearThe MediaShop (JHB)
3rdAlphabet Soup
Media Agency LegendCelia Collins
Media Owner LegendGreg Maloka
Media Owner Rising StarRicardo Lopes
Bell AwardNeil Higgs
Shepherd AwardRina Broomberg
Media Owner LambMark1Media
2ndUltimate Media
3rdRed Cherry Media
Media Agency LambInitiative Media (Cape Town)
2ndBrand et al
Media Owner AfricaAlliance Media
2ndPrimedia Outdoor
3rdDStv Media Sales
Media Agency AfricaOmnicom Media Group Africa
2ndDentsu Aegis Network Africa
3rdThe MediaShop Africa
Full-Service Media AgencyThe Media Shop (JHB)
Traditional Specialist Media AgencyAlphabet Soup
2ndHitch Digital
Media Owner Category Awards 
Media Owner RadioPrimedia Broadcasting
2ndThe Media Connection
Media Owner CinemaCinemark
2ndCinevation Popcorn
Media Owner TelevisionThe Home Channel, BDTV and Ignite
3rdDStv Media Sales
Media Owner Out of HomeAlliance Media
2ndMassiv Media
3rdAd Outpost
Media Owner NewspaperSpark Media
3rdTiso Blackstar
Media Owner MagazinesMedia24 Lifestyle
2ndNdola Media
3rdCaxton Magazines
Media Owner DigitalAdColony
Media Sales ConsultancyAdDynamo
2ndVicinity Media

Let's do Biz