Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

Panel announced for Galliova Food and Health Writers' Awards

The judging panel for the 2014 Galliova Food and Health Writers' Awards has been selected. They are Ina Paarman, Dorah Sithole, Luke Dale-Roberts, Anna Montali, Madeleine de Villiers and Martinette Stretch.

Judges backgrounds

Paarman is a previous Galliova winner (1995), a well-known SA food writer and television personality and the driving force behind the delicious range of gourmet food products of the same name. She is also the author of several bestselling cookbooks and was the food writer for Die Burger and Femina magazine.

Sithole is also a previous Galliova winner (1992) and the recipient of various merit awards. She has published numerous cookbooks and is an accomplished travel, nutrition and food writer and stylist. She trained as a cordon bleu chef but has extensive media experience as a food writer and as the former food editor and later editor of True Love. She was also awarded the South African Chefs Presidents Award in 2006.

Dale-Roberts is one of South Africa's most celebrated chefs, best known for the innovative gastronomic creations he dishes up at his Test Kitchen eatery in Cape Town, which was recently voted Best Restaurant in Africa at the World's 50 Best Restaurants awards ceremony in London. He has also previously written a monthly column for Taste magazine.

Montali is another former winner of the Galliova Award (2007), a well-known foodie stylist and writer and former food and deputy editor of Food & Home Entertaining magazine. She is passionate about food and currently pens her own food and travel blog.

De Villiers has been a member of the Galliova judging panel since the health writers' award was introduced in 2008. A registered dietician, she has held health and academic posts and was the health writer for SA Food & Home magazine for which she received a Mondi Paper Magazine Award. She is in private practice and consults to Huletts (diabetic and dietetic products) and, since 2007, the SA Poultry Association.

Stretch is an emeritus associate professor in nutrition and dietetics and has also been part of the Galliova panel since 2008. She has an extensive academic background, has presented 122 research contributions at international and national scientific conferences, has published several articles in peer-reviewed medical journals and was on the editorial board of The Specialist Forum. She is currently a part-time consultant.

"We're delighted these high-calibre food and health professionals are lending their expert cooking, health and media opinions to assessing this year's entries," says Kevin Lovell, CEO of the SA Poultry Association.

Five award categories

Five awards will be presented this year. The two main awards are the Galliova Food Writer of the Year (magazines) and Galliova Food Writer of the Year (newspapers and weekly titles), followed by the three affiliated awards, Up-and-coming Food Writer of the Year, Health Writer of the Year and the Galliova Egg Champion.

Entries close on 19 September 2014 and all finalists will be flown to Cape Town for the awards ceremony that takes place on Friday 24 October 2014 in Cape Town.
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.