Subscribe to industry newsletters


Search jobs

All the 2011 FM AdFocus winners

Twelve winners were honoured last night at the 2011 Financial Mail AdFocus Awards last night, Wednesday, 23 November 2011, in Johannesburg. Draftfcb Johannesburg took Advertising Agency of the Year, as well as sharing the Partnership of the Year award with Toyota South Africa, which it has represented for 50 years.
All the 2011 FM AdFocus winners

All the winners

  • Advertising Agency of the Year: Draftfcb Johannesburg
  • Media Agency of the Year: The MediaShop
  • Branding & Design Agency of the Year: Grid
  • Specialist Agency of the Year: EXP South Africa
  • Digital Agency of the Year: Gloo Digital Design
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Gordon Muller (@mzansimedia)
  • African Advertising Agency Network of the Year: Ogilvy Africa
  • Partnership of the Year: Draftfcb Johannesburg and Toyota South Africa
  • Newsmaker of the Year: Yusuf Abramjee (@Abramjee)
  • New Broom Award: Sam Beckbessinger, strategic planner at Quirk) (@greenham_sam)
  • Agency Leader of the Year: James Barty
  • AdFocus Special Award: Hamiltons Advertising and Fruit & Veg City

uller (@mzansimedia) is described as a legend after 33-years in the media planning industry. He is a former MD of SA's biggest media agency, OMD, has chaired many of the industry's national bodies and remains a fierce fighter for his sector. He has also authored Media Planning - Art or Science, which is part of the curriculum at universities and other educational institutions, and has provided the knowledge base for generations of young people entering the industry.


The 18-strong AdFocus awards jury was chaired by independent marketing consultant Neil van der Weele. Among its members were Bernice Samuels and Heidi Brauer (@heidibeeee, marketing heads of FNB and Comair/ respectively; Damon Stapleton (@D_Stapleton), outgoing TBWA\Hunt\Lascaris group ECD who is moving to Australia to become ECD at Saatchi & Saatchi Australia, Campaign Brief reported today; Michelle Meyjes, CEO of the MEC media group; Reinher Behrens (@56Rhino, CE of McCann Worldgroup; and Abey Mokgwatsane, head of experiential agency VWV (@Abeyphonogenic.

According to AdFocus editor David Furlonger, agencies were judged on a range of criteria, including new business and growth; creative success and industry recognition; business retention and client relationships; and BEE and corporate social responsibility. Judges' scores and final results were audited by Deloitte.

The event, at The Arena Royale theatre in Broadacres, Fourways, was filmed by Summit TV for broadcast on Friday 25 November, at 9.30am and 4pm.

The full 2011 AdFocus print annual will be posted on at the weekend, once FM subscribers have received their copies. A gallery of pictures from the awards and party may be viewed at Follow @FMAdFocus_2011 on Twitter.

Let's do Biz