Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Meet the finalists for the 2019 Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards

The finalists of the second annual Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards have been announced. The awards recognise supplier development best practice in South Africa and acknowledge those successful programmes that are making a lasting impact on the SA economy.
Last year's Supplier Development Awards finalists.
Last year's Supplier Development Awards finalists.

More than 400 entries were received this year from both private and public sector enterprises, representing a wide array of industries including healthcare, mining, manufacturing and the built environment.

Moving beyond the scorecard

“These businesses are moving beyond the scorecard and realise they have a corporate and social responsibility to transform their supply chain, diversify procurement and actively engage in real enterprise and supplier development initiatives,” says Catherine Wijnberg, CEO of Fetola.

“The calibre of this year’s entries was notable, with some applicants displaying a clear step change in their initiatives since last year. This is a clear indicator supplier development is a way to build future strategic advantage and, when coupled with stronger industry networks and a long-term view on supporting the successful growth of small suppliers, this results in future competitive advantage and a better future for all.”

The 2019 Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards finalists who will be awarded across six categories are, in alphabetical order:

• ABInbev
• Accenture
• Bosch Holdings
• Compass Group Southern Africa
• Distell
• EnviroServ Waste Management
• Exxaro Resources
• Growthpoint Properties Limited
• Hatch Africa
• Macsteel
• Mr Price
• Sappi Southern Africa
• Telkom

Entries were adjudicated by a panel of industry experts, including: Von Stander, Massmart – who were the overall winner in 2018); Mamosa Majope, Wamobu Consulting; Nick Maweni, SAP Africa; Elmarie Goosen, Collective Value Creation; Dr Rethabile Melamu, Innovation Hub; Litha Kutta, Tiger Brands; Jono Hanks, Incite; Jon Foster-Pedley, Henley Business School; and Catherine Wijnberg, Fetola.

Awards ceremony

Winners of the Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards will be recognised at an interactive breakfast on 22 May 2019, in Parktown, where the following awards will be made:

• The Newcomer Award
• The Nation-builder Award
• The Small Supplier and Local Manufacturing and Award
• The Collaboration Award
• The Impact Award
• The Overall Winner

The Absa Business Day Supplier Development Awards are presented in partnership with Fetola, Cold Press Media and Tiso Blackstar Group.

Let's do Biz