Business services






Subscribe to industry newsletters

WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2019 applications are now open

The World Travel and Tourism Council (WTTC) calls on travel and tourism organisations to showcase their achievements by entering the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2019.
Image via

The Tourism for Tomorrow Awards recognises best practice in sustainable tourism within the industry globally, based upon the principles of environmentally friendly operations; support for the protection of cultural and natural heritage; and direct benefits to the social and economic well-being of local people in travel destinations around the world.

Since the beginning of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards under WTTC, there have been approximately 2,450 applicants from over 50 countries, 186 finalists, and 62 winners who have demonstrated economic, environmental, and social and cultural benefits from best practices in sustainable tourism.

Gloria Guevara, president and CEO, WTTC said: "This year’s Tourism for Tomorrow Awards celebrate 15 years of winners, stories, and leadership. We are pleased to announce that applications for the 2019 WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards have opened.

Celebrating responsible tourism

"Over the past 15 years, Tourism for Tomorrow winners have exemplified leadership in responsible tourism initiatives and set the benchmark for their industry peers. On behalf of WTTC and our members, I welcome organisations operating within the sustainable tourism space to apply to the Awards programme, which serves to further educate governments and the public and private sector through their outstanding accomplishments."

Fiona Jeffery OBE, founder and chairman of the international water aid charity Just a Drop and Chairman of the WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, said: "15 years of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards is a significant milestone. These awards are regarded as the 'Oscars' of the Sustainable Tourism Sector setting the highest standards of achievement in the world. They provide an important benchmark for social, environmental and economic best practise.

"Fundamentally they reflect and promote a code of conduct and set of values that the travel and tourism industry should strive and be proud to uphold and have in its operational DNA. As our sector continues to expand and evolve, it’s vital we recognise and support innovative businesses who demonstrate sustainable practices and ensure we protect our communities and planet for future generations. I look forward to marking a special year."

AIG Travel, Inc., the travel insurance and global assistance division of leading international insurance organisation American International Group, Inc., will be the headline sponsor of the awards programme for the fifth year.

Jeff Rutledge, CEO, AIG Travel, Inc., said: "The principles the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards exemplify are crucial to the growth of sustainable tourism. AIG is strongly committed to these principles, and we are honoured to celebrate the 15th year of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards as the headline sponsor for the fifth consecutive year."

This year applicants can enter into the following five categories:

The Social Impact Award recognises an organisation working to improve the people and places where it operates.

The Destination Stewardship Award celebrates organisations that have rejuvenated a place, maintained and developed its authenticity, brought stakeholders together and created something new and attractive.

The Climate Action Award seeks to recognise innovative actions through either behaviour change of guests and employees, policy changes or the introduction of technology, to reduce the scale and impacts of climate change.

The Investing in People Award recognises an organisation demonstrating leadership in becoming an exciting, attractive and equitable employer in the sector.

The Changemakers Award is a newly introduced category which recognises an organisation which has made real, positive and impactful change in a specific area of focus, which will change each year. In 2019, the focus will be on fighting the illegal wildlife trade through sustainable tourism.

The 2018 Award winners were:

• Global Himalayan Expedition, India;
• Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association, British Columbia, Canada;
• Airport Authority Hong Kong, Hong Kong;
• Virgin Atlantic, United Kingdom; and
• Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges, Costa Rica.

The 2019 finalists will be announced in January 2019 and the winners will be announced during next year’s WTTC Global Summit, which will take place in Seville, Spain, 3-4 April 2019.

Award applicants can apply online. Closing date is 14 November 2018.

Read the original article on eTurboNews

Let's do Biz