Subscribe to industry newsletters

Migration Media Award launched

VALLETTA, Malta - 35 journalists from 16 countries across the globe, including Africa, will be recognised for their reporting on the migration crisis.
Migration Media Award launchedThe first edition of the Migration Media Award will award the journalists for their journalistic excellence in reporting on migration in the Euro-Mediterranean region. The winning entries feature fact-based and impartial reporting on the complexity of migration, its many challenges and opportunities.

The 12 first-prize winners come from Algeria, Egypt, France, Italy, Morocco, Portugal and the UK

An international jury, composed of reputable senior journalists, evaluated over 120 applications for the four categories of video, print, online or radio in the English, French or Arabic languages.

A total of thirty-five 1st, 2nd and 3rd prize winners will be announced during an award ceremony to be held on June 14, 2017, in Valletta, Malta, under the auspices of Malta’s EU presidency.

The Migration Media Award is a new EU-funded journalism competition bringing together four partners based on the initiative of the International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD): the EUROMED Migration IV and OPEN Media Hub projects, funded by the EU, developed the scheme in partnership with the European Asylum Support Office (EASO) and Malta’s Ministry for Foreign Affairs.


African Press Organisation
APO is the sole press release wire in Africa, and the global leader in media relations related to Africa. With headquarters in Dakar, Senegal, APO owns a media database of over 150,000 contacts and the main Africa-related news online community.
Go to:

Let's do Biz