Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Nominees announced for 2013 Comic's Choice Awards

South Africa's comedians have voted, and the nominees in each category have been selected for the 3rd Annual South African Comic's Choice Awards. Now winning a prestigious Waldo is no longer a dream, but a one in four chance for each nominee.
Nominees announced for 2013 Comic's Choice AwardsThe nominees are:

The Savanna Newcomer Award: Loyiso Madinga, Eureka Nkese, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Kagiso Mokgadi
The BlackBerry Breakthrough Act Award: Deep Fried Man, Mpho Popps Modikoane, Donovan Goliath, Jason Goliath
The Comic's Choice Comic Of The Year Award: Trevor Noah, Loyiso Gola, Tumi Morake, Riaad Moosa
The Times Comic's Pen Award: Chester Missing, Loyiso Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Rob van Vuuren

The nominees were announced by previous winners Sifiso Nene, Dillan Oliphant, Joe Parker and Alyn Adams, who entertained everyone at the press event by doing a few minutes of stand-up.

2011 winner Deep Fried Man had the room in hysterics with his trademark "stand-up comedy with a guitar".

Audience Choice Award

While the nominees were voted for by their comedic peers, there is still one funnyman (or woman) who will be selected by the public's vote in the Savanna Audience Choice category.

Voting in this category only stays open until 8pm on 20 August 2013 and voters stand a chance to win a VIP experience to the awards if you SMS your favourite comedian's unique code to 38374. You can vote 20 times.

Vote for one of the following four for The Savanna Audience Choice Award:
Mashabela Galane - 1197
Sifiso Nene - 1187
Thapelo TIPS Seemise - 1150
Khanyisa Bunu - 1209

Lifetime Achievement Award

The sixth and final award (known as The Waldo) is awarded to the Lifetime Achievement recipient on the spot. Barry Hilton was the recipient with the highest number of votes in this special category for comedians with 25 years' experience.

The Lifetime Achievement recipient is always 'honoured' at a special night at Parker's a few weeks before the event.

Join a panel of 'Grill Masters' as they tear Barry a new one at 'The Grilling of a Lifetime, where he'll be subjected to comedic insults, praise and downright abuse.

The formal award ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on 24 August 2013, in association with The Times, Mzansi Magic and Kaya FM.

Event Information

Event Info:
Email: az.oc.eciohcscimoc@ofni
Twitter: @ComicsChoice - #CCA2013
Tickets: Computicket ( from R230 to R270.

Let's do Biz