Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Nominees announced for the Savanna Comic's Choice Awards

The nominees for the fourth annual South African Savanna Comic's Choice Awards have been announced.

And the nominees, as voted for by the comedy industry are:

  • The Savanna Newcomer Award: Alfred Adriaan, Loyiso Madinga, Yaaseen Barnes, Glen Biderman-Pam, Bradford Keen;

  • The Breakthrough Act Award: Donovan Goliath, Jason Goliath, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Deep Fried Man, Kagiso KG Mokgadi;

  • The Comic's Choice Comic Of The Year Award: Tumi Morake, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Trevor Noah, Riaad Moosa;

  • The Times Comic's Pen Award: David Kibuuka, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Christopher Steenkamp;

  • Lifetime Achiever: Mark Banks (there are no nominees in this category, just the recipient);

  • The Savanna Audience Choice Award: This is the only category that's open to public vote, so voting stays open until 28 July.If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMSing your favourite comedian's unique code to 38374.

Nominees announced for the Savanna Comic's Choice Awards

Mashabela Galane: Unique code 1197
Sifiso Nene: Unique code 1187
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli: Unique code 1283
Thapelo TIPS Seemise: Unique code 1150
Thabang Ramasenya: Unique code 1284

You can vote 20 times.

Anyone who follows the awards closely will notice that there are five nominees in each category instead of four. That's because this year the number of registered comedians grew by almost 30% and as there are so few categories, comedians now have a higher chance of being nominated.

You'll also notice that the word recipient is used instead of winner, that's because the purpose of the awards isn't to compete against each other; it's to acknowledge the work being done.

Special acknowledgement is due for Mark Banks who deserves lifetime recognition for his contribution to SA's comedy landscape. In a time when it was still dangerous to criticise the government, he was a genuinely interesting, alternative comic. His recent comeback to sketch shows has been phenomenally well received, so hats off to Mark for this well-deserved accolade and for over 25 years of comedy.

In true CCA style, Mark's closest peers will "grill" him at a special night at Parker's Comedy Club on 9 July, a few weeks before the award ceremony. If you fancy seeing a panel of "grill masters" hurl comedic insults and downright abuse at him, book your tickets from the venue.

The actual Savanna CCA ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on 2 August, 2014.It's a hilarious variety show, comprising sketches, stand-up, impressionists and witty one-liners delivered by SA's top comedians. Limited tickets are available to public, so book now through Computicket

Let's do Biz