Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Nominees announced for The 2nd Annual South African Comics Choice Awards

The nominees for The 2nd Annual South African Comics Choice Awards 2012, to be held on 10 July at Teatro, Montecasino, Joburg, have been announced. It has also been announced that Joe Parker will receive a Lifetime Achiever Award.
Nominees announced for The 2nd Annual South African Comics Choice AwardsAs 10 July approaches, the producers of South Africa's youngest comedy awards show are climbing the walls trying to keep secrets.

"All we are prepared to say at this point," said John Vlismas, "is that we have top, top comedy names involved, we have some intricate safety issues, some very talented dancers, and a disclaimer we are still trying to word. It's shaping up to be another spectacular evening, just try not to get any on your bow tie ... "

Local comics register and vote

The SA Comic's Choice Awards allows the majority of professional local comedians to register, vet each other and vote for who they believe should be honoured with one of six Waldo statuettes.

The show itself is unique, with no speeches allowed, only short comedy sets by each winner, as well as a mental concoction of comedy variety that won't be seen anywhere else.

"I'm not the creative side if this team, but I do know that once you put one of the best comedians in the country together with his award-winning sister, and let them collaborate with the acts they love and admire - and add to that the budget provided by Savanna - you are bound to be part of something very special. We are on the edge of our chairs, but from what we've heard and seen so far, book now, said Taffia Keight.

A lambasting second to none

This year, the team also presents a preliminary event - "The Grilling Of A Lifetime" where a "board of directors" chaired by Mel Miller, will deliver a lambasting second to none, tearing the 2012 Lifetime Achiever recipient apart at Parkers on 26 June.

"This is a new addition to The Comic's Choice Award Itinerary", said Keight. We wanted to honour the lifetime recipient in the most loving way possible for the comedy industry - we have gathered a board of comics who have made a name for themselves by being outspoken, controversial and uncensored. This event is rated R, not for the faint of heart, but promises to be unforgettable."

• Kagiso Lediga
• Alyn Adams
• Loyiso Gola
• Vittorio Leonardi

The Audience Choice Award

• Sifiso Nene
• Trevor Noah
• Eddie Eckstein
• Deep Fried Man

The Newcomer Award

• Jason Goliath
• Dillan Oliphant
• Donovan Goliath
• Monique Nortjé

The BlackBerry Breakthrough Act Award

• Deep Fried Man
• Robby Collins
• Tats Nkonzo
• Mpho "Popps" Modikoane

The Comic Of The Year Award

• Riaad Moosa
• Trevor Noah
• Nik Rabinowitz
• Loyiso Gola

The Lifetime Achiever Award

• Joe Parker

Social media links:

Twitter:!/comicschoice (hash tags #sacomic #nominees #SAcomedy) #Savanna

Don't forget

Grilling Of A Lifetime on 26 June at Parkers Comedy Club, Montecasino - show starts at 8pm - tickets R220.

Awards show on 10 July at Teatro, Montecasino - show starts 8pm - tickets from R230.

Bookings at Computicket.

Let's do Biz