Exhibitions & Events News South Africa

Emerging Creatives selected for Design Indaba Expo 2012

Design Indaba has selected its creative designers for this year's Emerging Creatives programme at the Design Indaba Expo 2012. They each will display their creative work at the expo and have a ticket to attend the Young Designers Simulcast of the Design Indaba Conference through the sponsorship of the Department of Arts and Culture (DAC).

This year, one Emerging Creative fashion designer will also win a sewing machine, sponsored by Brother South Africa and facilitated by the Cape Town Fashion Council (CTFC). Bryan Ramkiliwan, chief executive officer of the CTFC, and Jackie Burger, editor of ELLE magazine, will select the winner for this award.

"As a developmental partner, the department is a supporter of the Emerging Creatives initiative that not only unearths the future in the design sector but also serves as a launching pad for talented South African designers. Given the quality of work displayed for 2012, it shows that the Emerging Creatives bar has gone a level up and is growing from strength to strength," says Lindi Ndebele-Koka, director (Multimedia) of DAC.

Emerging Creatives exposes young designers to the best in the business, including international buyers and media. It serves as a developmental platform for the next generation of designers, whose work is selected based on its quality, originality and ability to stand alongside world class designs. The programme has launched the design careers of Daniel Ting Chong, Lauren Fowler, Andile Dyalvane, Laduma Ngxokolo and Lyall Sprong.

Emerging Creatives:

  • Amy Scheepers
  • Bheki Yende
  • Bianca Mimose de Klerk
  • Bongane Mthabela
  • Caryn Fourie
  • Chad Petersen
  • Claudette Maskell
  • College of Cape Town Gugulethu Campus Jewellery Design Students
  • Dirk Coetser
  • Elizka van Rensburg
  • Erin Carelse
  • Famke Koene
  • Gareth Owen
  • Graham Ray Wiles
  • Huibrecht Wahl
  • Jan Douglas
  • Jeannette Venter
  • Judith Gwayi
  • Karl John Mynhardt
  • Kelly Esterhuyse
  • Kgomotso Atang Tshikare
  • Lani Van Niekerk
  • Lauren Joffe
  • Leon van Rooyen
  • Lipato Shogole
  • Lucas R Adams
  • Marieke Christine Adams
  • Micah Joel Chishom
  • Mike van Heerden
  • Nadia du Plessis
  • Nicholas Christowitz
  • Nicholas Gordon Mills
  • Noel Yardley
  • Sebastian Borckenhagen
  • Sharon Styger
  • Sharp-Lee Mthimkulu
  • Sydne Andrea West
  • Thembalezwe Mntambo
  • Thuthuka Jewellery Development Programme Students
  • Werner Venter
  • Zora Mari Orchard

The Design Indaba Expo takes place from 2 to 4 March 2012 at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC)

For more:

Let's do Biz