Creative Week 2021 Special Section






Jury for Global Young Guns 17 announced

The One Club for Creativity has announced the jury for the Young Guns 17 program, celebrating international creative professionals age 30 or younger.
Jury for Global Young Guns 17 announced

Young Guns is the industry’s only global, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies and celebrates today’s vanguard of young creatives. The reduced-fee early entry deadline is 30 June 2019, with final deadline of 26 July 2019.

The renowned competitions annually attract entries from upwards of 70 countries, with more than half coming from outside the US. Winners are selected by a gender-balanced jury made up of past Young Guns winners and other creative leaders.

The Young Guns 17 jury includes:
  • Erika Barbieri, creative director, founder, OlssønBarbieri, Oslo, Norway
  • Tereza Bettinardi, art director, graphic designer, São Paulo, Brazil
  • Kareem Black, photographer, director, New York, NY, US
  • Billelis Bogiatzoglou, art director, illustrator, Edinburgh, Scotland
  • Nikoline Dyrup Carlson, architect MMA, founding partner, Spacon & X, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • David Chee, executive creative director, Wunderman Thompson, Shanghai, China
  • Darlene Cordero, creative director, New York, NY, US (YG2)
  • Gemma Correll, illustrator, Orange, CA, US (YG8)
  • Maja Cule, designer, educator, New York, NY, US (YG7)
  • Jacquelyn DeJesu, founder, CEO, inventor, Shhhowercap, New York, NY, US
  • Theodore Daley, director, designer, New York, NY, US
  • Mary Dauterman, motion/film, Brooklyn, NY, US (YG16)
  • Nabil Elderkin, director, Los Angeles, CA, US
  • Rafael Esquer, graphic designer, Alfalfa Studio, New York, NY, US (YG3)
  • Robert Festino, creative director, Variety, Los Angeles, CA, US
  • Grand Army, creative agency, New York, NY, US (YG9)
  • Shane Griffin, visual artist, director, owner, GRIF, New York, NY, US (YG10)
  • Niklas Gustafsson, director, global product design, PepsiCo, Inc., New York, NY, US
  • Frank Harkins, vice president, Creative Services, design director, Sony Music Group, New York, NY, US
  • Tahir Hemphill, director, Rap Research Lab, Baltimore, MD, US
  • Dian Holton, senior deputy art director, AARP, Washington DC, US
  • Erin Jang, creative director, The Indigo Bunting, New York, NY, US
  • Gordon Jee, founder, principal, arjuna 16 Design, Albuquerque, NM, US
  • Ashley Jones, creative director, Creech, Los Angeles, CA, US (YG11)
  • Max Kaplun, UX design lead, SSENSE, Outremont, Quebec, Canada (YG6)
  • Jon Kay, art director, MorcosKay, New York, NY, US
  • Geraldine Kessler, publication design, New York, NY, US (YG1)
  • Elle Jeong Eun Kim, art director, MoMA, New York, NY, US (YG8)
  • Chihiro Konno, designer, art director, PARTY, Tokyo, Japan (YG15)
  • Zak Kyes, graphic designer, Zak Group, London, UK (YG5)
  • Noemie Le Coz, designer, cofounder, Little Troop; creative director, Billie, Brooklyn, NY, US (YG15)
  • Morris Lee, co-director, creative director, 18 Uppercut and Anomaly, Shanghai, China (YG6)
  • Tamar Levine, director, photographer, Los Angeles, CA US (YG9)
  • Vince Lim, vice president, creative director, McCann, New York, NY, US
  • Saskia Marka, title designer, Berlin, Germany
  • Mutua Matheka, photographer, MutuaMatheka, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Catherine McCurry, creative technologist, creative director, Google, New York, NY, US (YG12)
  • Prerna Mehra, head of design, creative director, Cheil Worldwide India, Delhi, India
  • Jordan Metcalf, graphic designer, Jordan Metcalf Studio, Portland, OR, US (YG11)
  • Otto Ng, design director, LAAB Architects, Hong Kong (YG13)
  • Theo Pinto, principal, Theo Pinto Studio, Inc., New York, NY, US (YG15)
  • Gavin Potenza, illustrator, typographer, Script & Seal, New York, NY, US (YG8)
  • Noa Raviv, fashion designer, artist, Queens, NY, US (YG16)
  • Daniel Robitaille, graphic designer, Paprika, Montréal, Canada (YG10)
  • Breonna Rodriguez, senior brand/marketing design director, Sesame Workshop, New York, US
  • John Rothenberg, managing director, Sosolimited, Boston, MA, US (YG5)
  • Julie Ruiz, creative director, VICE, New York, NY, US
  • Julie Scelzo, global executive creative director, mcgarrybowen, New York, NY, US
  • Shabnam Shiwan, partner, creative director, Osborne Shiwan, Auckland, New Zealand
  • Tara St. James, fashion designer, Study NY, New York, NY, US
  • Steve Street, group creative director, Big Spaceship, New York, NY, US
  • Jessica Tanish, associate creative director, Firstborn, New York, NY, US
  • Kristy Tillman, head of global experience design, Slack, San Francisco, CA, US
  • Catelijne van Middelkoop, graphic designer, Rotterdam, Netherlands (YG4)
  • Deacon Webster, chief creative officer, Walrus, New York, NY, US (YG2)
  • Heiko Wenczel, head of Detroit Lab, industry manager, Epic Games, Detroit, MI, US
  • Bianca Wendt, creative director, The RealReal, San Francisco, CA, US (YG7)
  • Jim Wood, executive creative director, Analog Folk, New York, NY, US
  • Siavosh Zabeti, creative director, Apple, Cupertino, CA, US (YG12)
  • Olimpia Zagnoli, illustrator, Milan, Italy (YG9)
  • Andrew Zuckerman, co-founder, photographer, filmmaker, creative director, Slowdown Media, New York, NY, US (YG3)

The program is open to creatives age 30 and under who have been working for at least two years, full-time or freelance. Eligible entrants can submit a combination of professional and personal work in graphic design; advertising art direction and copywriting; architectural, environmental and interior design; industrial and product design; digital (UX/UI, experiential design, interactive, web design, apps, game development): film and animation (motion design, television, video); fashion; typography and lettering; illustration and photography.

Past Young Guns include rising stars who went on to become leaders in their chosen fields, including graphic designers James Victore (YG1), Stefan Sagmeister (YG1) and Jessica Walsh (YG8); advertising creatives Rei Inamoto (YG4) and Menno Kluin (YG6); illustrators Christoph Niemann (YG2) and Deanne Cheuk (YG4); photographers Ryan McGuinness (YG2) and Jeremy Floto/Cassandra Warner (aka floto+warner, YG5); typographers Alex Trochut (YG6) and Gemma O’Brien (YG13); film and video director Mike Mills, animation artist Todd St. John (YG1) and others.

This year’s winners will be recognised at the Young Guns 17 celebration and party in New York this November.

To enter or see more information, click here.

For more:

Let's do Biz