Advertise on Bizcommunity

Subscribe to industry newsletters

2015 Music & Sound Jury President, Jury announced for LIA

The organisers of the 2015 London International Awards (LIA) have selected the judge and jury for the TV/Cinema/Online Film - Music & Sound category. The president is Rani Vaz, Senior VP, Director of Music for BBDO New York and a pioneer in her field; she is the only woman in the industry running a major agency music department.
During her time at BBDO NY, Rani has produced scores, original songs and acted as Music Supervisor for thousands of projects. She has produced BBDO's most memorable music for clients like GE, Guinness, Mt. Dew, FedEx, HBO, Starbucks, Visa, ExxonMobil, CVS, Pepsi and American Red Cross.

She has worked in the studio with BB King, Britney Spears, Isaac Hayes, Faith Hill, Aretha Franklin, Mariah Carey, Jessica Simpson, Marlon Brando, Joe Pesci, KISS, Cheap Trick and Kermit the Frog. She has also licensed music from artists such as Beck, The Beatles, Goldfrapp, Queens of the Stone Age and many, many others. Her work has won the industry's highest honors including two EMMY awards, Gold Lions at Cannes, LIA, New York Festivals, ADDYs, ANDYs, Clios and more.

Vaz is a past winner of BBDO's prestigious "Founder's Award," given only to those who consistently perform above and beyond the call of duty. In 2003, Vaz was inducted into the YWCA's Academy of Women Achievers and, in May 2014, she chaired the 2nd Annual AMP Awards for Music and Sound.


    • Bob Farnsworth (President, Hummingbird Productions, Nashville)
    • Brian Yessian (Partner/Chief Creative Officer, Yessian Music, New York)
    • Eric David Johnson (Senior Vice President/Executive Music Producer, McCann Erickson, New York)
    • Jack Sedgwick (Executive Creative Director, Wave Studios, London)
    • Ramesh Sathiah (Partner/Creative Director, Song Zu, Sydney)
    • Scott Cymbala (Owner/Partner/Executive Producer, MassiveMusic, Los Angeles)
The LIA 2015 Entry System is now accepting entries through August. Judging will take place from 1-10 October. The shortlists will be announced as each judging session concludes, with winners being announced 10 November. For more information, go to
Get a daily news update via WhatsApp or sign up to our newsletters.