Subscribe to industry newsletters

All the SAMA26 winners

The #ForThaClub category winners for the 26th South African Music Awards were announced at the SAMA26 grand finale on the 7 August via livestream on and on Mzansi Magic.

The 26th South African Music Awards were hosted virtually under the theme #ForThaKultcha, and were split into five 30-minute episodes which were streamed from 3-7 August on and on Mzansi Magic. Each episode was split into a sub-theme #ForThaRoots, #ForThaSoul, #ForThaStreets, #ForThaCraft and culminated in #ForThaClub, a 45-minute-long grand finale.

The fifth and final installment of the Samas was dedicated to the legends who have paved the way for today’s sound.

#ForThaClub Winners

Best Rock Album: 
Dagdrome in Surburbia by Francois van Coke

Duo/Group of the Year: 
Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi

Album of the Year: 
Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee

International Achievement Award:
 Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best Remix:
Shay’inumber by Malumz on Decks 

Best Dance Album: in Partnership with Yfm

Re Mmino by Prince Kaybee

Record Of The Year: 
Ibhanoyi by Blaq Diamond

#ForThaCraft winners

Best Live Audio Visual Recording: 
Glory in His Presence by Benjamin Dube

Best Engineered Album:
Into Dust/Waltz for Jozi
by Peter Auret

Best Classical Album:
Andaluza – Music of Spain III
by James Grace

Female Artist of the Year:
Ami Faku for Imali

Best Produced Music Video
Fetch Your Life by Ofentse Mwase

Music Video Of The Year:
by AKA featuring Yanga Chief

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Benjamin Dube

#ForThaStreets winners:

Best Kwaito Album:
Ikhenani by DJ Tira

Beste Pop Album:
#Partytjiedier by Kurt Darren

Best Pop Album:
Ghost by Mathew Mole 

Best Hip Hop Album:
Becoming A Popstar by Yanga Chief

Best Selling DVD:
Volume 23 Live at CTICC by Joyous Celebration

Best Selling Artist: 
Mlindo the Vocalist for Emakhaya

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Dan Tshanda

#ForThaSoul winners

Best Maskandi Album:
Upopayi by Thokozani Langa

Best Traditional Music Album:
Ungabanaki by Qadasi & Maqhinga

Best Collaboration:
Say U Will by K.O featuring Nandi Madida

Best Traditional Faith Music Album:
Calvary by Dumi Mkokstad

Newcomer of the Year:
Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble for Queen Nandi: The African Symphony

Best African Indigenous Faith Album:
Lona Ba Ratang Ho Phela by Amadodana Ase Wesile

Best Jazz Album:
Queen Nandi: The African Symphony by Ndabo Zulu & Umgidi Ensemble

Bestse Kontemporêre Musiek Album:
Sterker by Riana Nel

Rest of Africa Award:
A Good Time by Davido (Nigeria)

#ForThaRoots winners

Best Afro Pop Album:
Isphithiphithi by Samthing Soweto

Best Reggae Album:
True Stories by Bongo Riot Di Dancehall Wakanda

Best African Adult Contemporary Album:
Folklore-Chapter 1 by Pilani Bub

Best Adult Contemporary Album:
by Ndlovu Youth Choir

Best R&B/Soul Album:
My Heart To Your Soul by Lungisa Xhamela

Best Alternative Music Album: 
Cult Pop by Lo-Ghost

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album:
Glory In His Presence
by Benjamin Dube

Male Artist of the Year:
Prince Kaybee for Re Mmino

SAMA26 episodes are available on DStv Catch Up.

Let's do Biz