Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

2014 Eat Out Awards winners announced

The winners of the 2014 Eat Out Mercedes-Benz Restaurant Awards, which celebrate culinary distinction and talent across South Africa, have been announced: The Test Kitchen in Cape Town took first place as Restaurant of the Year for the third year running; and Joburg-based restaurant Five Hundred, with 2013 Chef of the Year David Higgs at the helm, kept its second place in the Top 10 restaurant list.
Chantel Dartnall of Restaurant Mosaic at the Orient was honoured as San Pellegrino Chef of the Year for 2014. Margot Janse of The Tasting Room is the only other woman who has received this award since the introduction of the Eat Out Restaurant awards in 1998. This year, The Tasting Room received the Grolsch Service Excellence Award.

The winners of the Lannice Snyman Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by associate sponsor Paarl Media, were Eduan Naudé and the late Brian Shalkoff, former owners of Gramadoelas restaurant in Joburg.

The Nederburg Rising Star Award went to Kobus van der Merwe of Oep ve Koep in Paternoster for his promising talent and The Tsogo Sun Wine Service Award for a top sommelier was won by Patson Mathonsi of DW Eleven-13 for his unique and refreshing approach.

Chantel Dartnall - Restaurant Mosaic
Chantel Dartnall - Restaurant Mosaic
Luke Dale-Roberts - The Test Kitchen
Luke Dale-Roberts - The Test Kitchen

The winners' list:

  • Eat Out S. Pellegrino Chef of the Year: Chantel Dartnall of Restaurant Mosaic
  • Restaurant of the Year: The Test Kitchen

Top 10 Restaurants:

  1. The Test Kitchen
  2. Five Hundred
  3. The Tasting Room
  4. Restaurant Mosaic
  5. Jordan Restaurant
  6. Overture
  7. Rust en Vrede
  8. DW Eleven-13
  9. The Restaurant at Newton Johnson
  10. Terroir


  • Grolsch Service Excellence Award: The Tasting Room
  • Nederburg Rising Star: Kobus van der Merwe of Oep ve Koep
  • Tsogo Sun Wine Service Award: Patson Mathonsi of DW Eleven-13
  • Lannice Snyman Lifetime Achievement Award (in association with Paarl Media): Eduan Naudé and the late Brian Shalkoff
  • Best Asian Restaurant: Kyoto Garden Sushi
  • Best Italian Restaurant: La Sosta
  • Best Steakhouse: The Local Grill (Parktown North)
  • Best Country-style Restaurant: Café Bloom
  • Best Everyday Eatery: Chefs Warehouse & Canteen
  • Boschendal Style Award: Equus Dine at Cavalli
  • Woolworths Taste Eat Out Bursary: Thozamile Mgumane
The identities of the five anonymous South Africa-based judges, who worked alongside Eat Out Editor and chief judge Abigail Donnelly to determine the winners, were also revealed at the awards ceremony. They are Andy Fenner, Arnold Tanzer, Kate Wilson, Reuben Riffel, and Caro de Waal.

Donnelly said: "It has been an astonishing year to judge restaurants. This is due in part to the many changes that have occurred in the industry, such as chefs moving on to new ventures, thus allowing others to shine. Working together with the panel of judges has been a complete honour as each one of them has brought their enthusiasm, uniqueness and dedication to the table."

Aileen Lamb, GM of Eat Out, said: "These restaurants are the best of the best of the restaurant industry and it's incredible to have 800 guests honour them at the biggest and most magical awards evening yet. Congratulations to all the exceptional winners - it has truly been an excellent year!"

To find out more, go to

Let's do Biz