Winning developments announced at SAPOA dinner

SAPOA has announced the winners of its awards for Innovative Excellence in Property Development, sponsored by Nedbank Corporate Property Finance, at the 44th annual SAPOA International Property Convention & Exhibition at the Durban International Convention Centre. Taking top honours was the One & Only The Palm, Dubai, owned by Kerzner International, for its collaboration of South African consultants working in the international arena.
The One & Only
The One & Only
The One & Only
The One & Only
Mall of the North
Mall of the North
Mall of the North
Mall of the North
DSA Architects International and Mirage Mille led the design and construction as principal architects and development/project managers respectively. WSP and CKR were the consulting engineers and MLC Quantity Surveyors were the cost consultants. The design package was produced and co-ordinated in Johannesburg.

"The winners showcased excellence in design and innovation. They reflected the constant revolution needed to meet today's challenges and tomorrow's needs, in South Africa and globally," says Neil Gopal, CEO of SAPOA.

Other winners:

  • Retail development category - the 75000sqm Mall of the North, jointly owned and developed by Flanagan & Gerard Property Development and Investment, Moolman Group and Resilient Property Income Fund. MDS Architecture designed this super-regional shopping centre, which opened in April 2012, with strong reference to its context in Polokwane, Limpopo.
  • Industrial development category - Ellerines Cape Town, owned and developed by Growthpoint Properties Limited and designed by Loudon Perry Anderson Architects. The innovative project created the new high-tech facility for distribution in the greater Western Cape region.
  • Office development category - SANRAL's new 4-Star Green Star design rated (Office-v1), AAA-grade corporate head office in Pretoria is owned and developed by SANRAL and designed by Activate Architecture.
  • Retail refurbishment category - Sandton City Shopping Centre, owned by Liberty Properties, with MDS Architecture, MMA Architects, RTKL appointed for the centre's phase-one positioning project. The development comprises refurbishing the existing mall and an addition of 30 000 sqm of retail space.
  • Office refurbishment category - Designed by Paragon Architects and developed by Alchemy Property Investment Trust, the project transformed an inefficiently designed 1980s office block, 25 Wellington Road in Parktown, Johannesburg, into a modern call centre for tenant Cell C.
  • Mixed-use developments category - The Pivot at Montecasino, owned and developed by Abland and designed by Nsika. It introduces a 200-room, 4-star Southern Sun Hotel, a 1200sqm conference facility, 15,000 sqm offices, parking and some retail.
  • 'Other' development category - the Seth Mokitimi Methodist Seminary, a training centre for Methodist ministers in Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, owned by Methodist Church of Southern Africa and developed by RPP Developments and Bridgeport Properties. Boogertman + Partners Architects designed the seminary.
  • Social impact development category winner - The Soweto Theatre, the first professional performing arts venue developed in a former township. Owned and developed by the City of Joburg Property Company, Afritects designed this arts and culture landmark in the Jubulani CBD precinct.
  • Innovative property solutions category - Vodafone Site Solution Innovation Centre, which makes its own electricity and supplies excess electricity to its neighbour. The building is the international hub for developing innovation, monitoring and experimentation within the Vodafone Group worldwide. It is the first 6-Star Green Star SA accredited building in SA. Owned and developed by Vodacom & Vodafone Group, it is designed by GLH Architects
  • Top overall green development - Aurecon Century City is the first building in South Africa to earn a 5-Star Green Star SA - Office Design v1 rating by the Green Building Council of South Africa (GBCSA). It is developed by Rabie Property Group and designed by MaC Architects
  • Transformation Award - Khayelitsha Hospital, as part of the Presidential Urban Renewal Programme, it will serve the community of Khayelitsha - the largest township in Cape Town and the third largest in South Africa. Owned by the Provisional Department of Public Works (PDPW) & Transport and built by Group Five Coastal, the hospital is designed by ACG Architects & Development Planners and Ngonyama Okpanum & Associate.


A multi-disciplinary expert panel of 16 independent judges comprising leaders in their fields decided the award winners.
  • Anthony Orelowitz - Paragon Architects
  • Barend de Loor - Eris Property Group
  • Beata Kaleta - DSA Architects
  • Chris Lawrence - Chris Lawrence
  • Corne de Leeuw - Del QS
  • Craig Sutherland - Sutherland Engineers
  • Hashim Bham - BTKM QS
  • John Truter - WSP Group
  • John Williamson - MDS Architects
  • Ken Reynolds - Nedbank
  • Pieter Engelbrecht - Growthpoint Properties
  • Richard Cottrill - Abland
  • Rudolf Nieman - JHI
  • Sam Silwamba - Old Mutual Properties
  • Wessel van Dyk - Boogertman & Partners
  • Zinon Marinakos - DSA Architects

Copyright © 2022 Bizcommunity.