Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2021 winners revealed

The results of the 20th annual Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show were announced on a special edition of the Dan Really Likes Wine show this afternoon, Wednesday 30 June.
Broadcast from The Houghton in Johannesburg, the live online event included the on-screen participation of the leading category winners as well as several of the judges.

The awards were judged by a panel of South African wine industry experts, headed by chairman Michael Fridjhon.

The list of trophy and gold medal winners can be found below.

Trophy winners

• Old Mutual Trophy for Most Successful Producer Overall:
Diemersdal Estate

• Trophy for Best Cabernet Franc, Old Mutual Trophy for Discovery of the Show / Best Value Gold Medallist, and Old Mutual Trophy for Best Red Wine Overall:
Thokozani Cabernet Franc 2019 (Diemersfontein)

• Miele Trophy for Best Chardonnay and Old Mutual Trophy for Best White Wine Overall:
De Grendel Op die Berg Chardonnay 2020

• Sowetan Trophy for Best Sparkling Wine:
Paul René Méthode Cap Classique Chardonnay Brut 2017

• Harold Eedes Trophy for Best Chenin Blanc and Rosa Kruger Trophy for Best Old Vine Wine:
Bosman Optenhorst Chenin Blanc 2019

• American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon:
Oldenburg Rondekop Per Se Cabernet Sauvignon 2019

• Riedel Trophy for Best Bordeaux-Style Red Blend:
Buitenverwachting Meifort 2018

• Trophy for Best Niche Red:
Dunstone Reserve Grenache 2018

• Business Day Trophy for Best Shiraz:
Trizanne Signature Wines Reserve Syrah 2019

• Sunday Times Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc:
Groote Post Seasalter Sauvignon Blanc 2019

• Tony Mossop Trophy for Best Cape Port:
Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve 2017

• Old Mutual Trophy for Best Pinotage:
Diemersdal Pinotage Reserve 2019

• Trophy for Best Semillon
Old Road Wine Co. Grand-Mére Semillon 2017 (Old Vines)

•Financial Mail Trophy for Best Sauvignon Blanc Semillon Blend:
Delaire Graff White Reserve 2018

• Trophy for Best Other White Blend:
Stark-Condé Field Blend 2020

• Trophy for Best Museum Class Sauvignon Blanc:
The Berrio Sauvignon Blanc 2006

• Trophy for Best Museum Class White Blend:
Elgin Vintners The Century Sauvignon Blanc Semillon 2017

Gold medal winners

• Bon Courage Inkará Shiraz 2019
• Boschendal Jean Le Long Prestige Cuvée Méthode Cap Classique 2009
• DeMorgenzon Maestro White 2018
• DeMorgenzon Reserve Chardonnay 2019
• Diemersdal Private Collection 2017
• Diemersdal The Journal Cabernet Sauvignon 2018
• Ghost Corner Wild Ferment Sauvignon Blanc 2019 (Cederberg Cellar)
• Highlands Road Sauvignon Blanc White Reserve 2017 (Museum Class)
• Iona Solace Syrah 2019
• Ken Forrester The FMC 2019 (Old Vines)
• Leeuwenkuil Heritage Syrah 2018
• Lievland Bushvine Pinotage 2019
• Rascallion A Mother’s Journey Shiraz 2018
• Rustenberg Five Soldiers Chardonnay 2019
• Sauvage La Bri Méthode Cap Classique 2015
• Vrede en Lust Kogelberg Chenin Blanc 2019

Visit Trophy Wine Show for the lists of all trophy, gold, silver and bronze medal winners and a roundup of this year's winning producers.

Copyright © 2022 Bizcommunity.