Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Search for bravest women journalists

WASHINGTON, US: The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations for its 2013 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award.
Search for bravest women journalistsEach year, the Courage in Journalism Awards honour three women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, threats to personal safety and other intimidating obstacles.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognises a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose accomplishments have paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

They led the way

Previous Courage in Journalism Award winners include Reeyot Alemu, Feteh, Ethiopia; Vicky Ntetema, BBC, Tanzania; Agnès Tailé, Canal 2 International, Cameroon; Salima Tlemcani, El Watan, Algeria; and Sandra Nyaira, Daily News, Zimbabwe.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Peta Thornycroft, independent journalist, Zimbabwe; Zubeida Mustafa, writer, Pakistan; Kate Adie, BBC News, United Kingdom; Barbara Walters, ABC News, United States; and Magdalena Ruiz, Radio Mitre, Argentina.

Nominations for the 2013 awards must be submitted by 1 March 2013.

Who is eligible?

Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time, part-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country. Digital news media candidates are accepted. Lifetime Achievement Award candidates can be either working or retired journalists.

Nominations may be submitted in English, French, Spanish or Russian. All nomination forms for both the Courage in Journalism Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award must be completed by an associate of the nominee. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nominate your candidate now!

To learn how to nominate a journalist, visit the IWMF website at

For more information, contact Alana Barton (+1 (202) 496-1992, gro.fmwi@notraba), visit and follow #IWMFcourage (@IWMF) on Twitter.

Founded in 1990, the mission of the International Women's Media Foundation is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide. The IWMF empowers women with the tools, knowledge, and confidence to serve as a prominent voice on global issues. At the core of the IWMF's mission is the belief that no press is truly free unless women have an equal voice.

Let's do Biz