Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Judges announced for SAPOA journalism awards

Entries for the SAPOA Property Journalism Awards have closed and judges have been selected to award the three prizes, from the 26 entries, at the 43rd Annual SAPOA International Convention and Property Exhibition at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) on 12 May 2011.

The three awards - Best Property News Journalist of the Year, Best Property Feature Journalist of the Year, and Best Property Publication of the Year, sponsored for the second year by Hermans & Roman Property Solutions - recognise SA property journalists who have made a significant contribution to the commercial and industrial property market.

The judging panel for 2011 includes JHI CEO Marna van der Walt; Property Sector Charter Council CEO Portia Tau-Sekati; Sanett Uys, GM of research and marketing at the Broll Group; Keillen Ndlovu, head of property funds at Stanlib; and Kevin Roman, group CEO of Hermans & Roman Property Solutions.

Roman, the only returning judge, points out that all three categories have a distinct set of criteria and judges will be carefully briefed before the judging panel is convened.

The Best Property News Journalist, will be assessed on news breaking content and topicality and Best Property Feature Journalist will be judged on the relevance, depth and accuracy of reporting. The Best Property Publication of the Year needs to display immediate visual appeal and attraction, as well as constantly engaging the interest of its target market.

All three awards have a trophy and the two winning journalists each receive a R10 000 prize.

Let's do Biz