Subscribe to industry newsletters

Search jobs

Nominees for Comics Awards announced

The South African Comic's Choice Awards allows the majority of professional local comedians to register, vet each other and vote for who they believe should be honoured with one of six Waldo statuettes. The ceremony will be held at the Teatro, Montecasino in Johannesburg on 10 July 2012.
Nominees for Comics Awards announcedThe show itself is unique, with no speeches allowed, only short comedy sets by each winner, as well as a mental concoction of comedy variety that won't be seen anywhere else. This year, the team also presents a preliminary event - "The Grilling of a Lifetime" where a "board of directors" chaired by Mel Miller, will deliver a lambasting second to none, tearing the 2012 Lifetime Achiever recipient, Joe Parker apart at Parkers on 26 June.

This year's nominees for the Times Comic's Pen Award are: Kagiso Lediga, Alyn Adams, Loyiso Gola and Vittorio Leonardi; The Audience Choice Award: Sifiso Nene, Trevor Noah, Eddie Eckstein and Deep Fried Man; The Newcomer Award: Jason Goliath, Dillan Oliphant, Donovan Goliath and Monique Nortjé; The BlackBerry Breakthrough Act Award: Deep Fried Man, Robby Collins, Tats Nkonzo and Mpho "Popps" Modikoane; The Comic of the Year Award: Riaad Moosa, Trevor Noah, Nik Rabinowitz and Loyiso Gola; The Lifetime Achiever Award: Joe Parker.

Let's do Biz