Advertising News South Africa


Advertise your job ad
    Search jobs

    Construction New Media Awards

    There may be no fortune in winning a Construction Award, but fame comes in the form of the coveted Grand Prix. It is awarded across all categories, including Online, Networked Exe and Offline.

    The first Grand Prix winner Joe De Lange from Redshift went to New York, the second Andries Odendaal of Wireframe jetted to Vienna. The Grand Prix was not awarded in 2003, but the 2004 one will have a chance to jet off to spend a week at Poke London.

    As a Cape Town Major Events Company [CTME] initiative, the Construction New Media Awards aims to celebrate and elevate the status of new media design by honouring and accrediting those designers, writers, programmers and thinkers who produce challenging, imaginative interactive work, both on a creative and a functional platform.

    In remaining true to the medium, all judging takes place online, with the exception of the Offline category, which is judged in the week before the event, in Cape Town.

    The inaugural event was launched in conjunction with another by the Cape Town Major Events Company initiative, the International Design Indaba®, in March 2001. It was judged by some of the world's most exacting and most awarded designers, and supported by an overwhelming number of South African digital media design agencies.

    The 2nd Construction New Media Awards, held the in March 2002 with the 5th International Design Indaba®, paved the way in establishing these awards as the premier new media awards in the country. Again it was judged by leaders in their field, their feedback being that they would have been proud to have produced some of the winning entries themselves. The introduction of a Student category was well-received and gained considerable interest internationally.

    The 3rd Construction New Media Awards proved to be yet another great success with ongoing support from the industry within South Africa as well as a growing number of entries worldwide – especially in the Student section.

    The 4th Construction New Media Awards promises to be bigger and better, as the award gaining ground globally, especially in the student section, which has produced some exceptional work to date. The winners will be announced on Thursday 26th February 2004 at the design Indaba Expo, attendees will have the opportunity to meet the judges, view the finalists and see the award-winning work followed by an after party.

    :: Entries Professional – R670.00 [US$100.00]
    :: Entries Student – R135.00 [US$20.00]
    :: Entry Forms are available online at
    :: Deadline – 30th January 2004
    :: Awards Ceremony – 26th February 2004
    :: Cape Town Convention Center

    Please see for more details or e-mail .

    Let's do Biz